Trains from Berlin to Vienna

Best Price

Real time comparison

Easy Booking

Direct access to over 450 train, bus and flight partners

Customer Satisfaction

More than 30 million users from over 120 countries
Today Sat 25 Mar Sun 26 Mar Mon 27 Mar Tue 28 Mar Wed 29 Mar Thu 30 Mar Fri 31 Mar Sat 1 Apr Sun 2 Apr Mon 3 Apr Tue 4 Apr Wed 5 Apr Thu 6 Apr Fri 7 Apr Sat 8 Apr Sun 9 Apr Mon 10 Apr Tue 11 Apr Wed 12 Apr Thu 13 Apr
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices

Price Calendar: These fares were collected over the last 24 hours and may be subject to change.

Berlin to Vienna Train Information

Avg. Train Duration9h 45m
Trains arrive inVienna
Trains depart fromBerlin
Train Ticket Price 39.00 €
Distance524 km
Train Companies
  • Deutsche Bahn

Trains from Berlin to Vienna: Journey Details

Taking the train from Berlin to Vienna is a lovely way to travel between these two fascinating European capitals, and there are multiple daily trains to choose from. All train are operated by Deutsche Bahn, and the first service departs at just before 4:30 a.m. After that, trains continue to leave until 11:45 p.m. One thing travelers need to note is that all train journeys to Vienna require one or more changes, which could be in Prague or Wurzburg. However, this doesn't extend the journey time too much, with the fastest trains taking just over 8 hours to reach Vienna.

Return trains from Vienna to Berlin are also available.

Vienna

Demographics

Local Time 03:02
Euro
Population 1,600,000
Languages German

How expensive is Vienna?

An Average Meal

An average meal in a restaurant in Vienna costs 8.6% more than in Berlin.

Shopping

Prices in Vienna are on average 0.3% higher than in Berlin.

Public Transport

Public transport in Vienna costs around 18.5% less than in Berlin.

A Night in a Hotel

A night in a hotel in Vienna is about 22.7% less expensive than in Berlin.

Taking the Train from Berlin

Trains from Berlin to Vienna depart from Berlin's Hauptbahnhof, which is located close to the heart of the city. The best way to get there is by taking U-Bahn Line U55 (which runs straight from Brandenberger Tor), or the S5 and S7 suburban rail lines which connect it to outlying districts. There are also plenty of buses and trams. Leave around 15 minutes to reach the station from the center of town. The U-Bahn runs until 1:30 most days, so there should be no need for a late-night taxi, unless you are catching the first train of the day.

Getting into Vienna by Train

Austria's capital is a Baroque masterpiece, with gorgeous sights around every corner. You visit the filming location of cinema classics like the Third Man, walk in the footsteps of Mozart and Freud or just relax in the stunning gardens of the Schoenbrunn Palace. Trains to Vienna from Berlin arrive at the Hauptbahnhof, which is about 20 minutes walk south of the historic center. The best way into town is via the Metro (nearest stop is Keplerplatz) or via tram and bus routes. The Metro runs from 5:00 a.m. until 12:30 a.m., so it should be an option when your train arrives.

Train