Trains from London to Brighton

Approved for

and more

Best Price

Real time comparison

Easy Booking

Direct access to over 450 train, bus and flight partners

Customer Satisfaction

More than 30 million users from over 120 countries
Today Wed 29 Mar Thu 30 Mar Fri 31 Mar Sat 1 Apr Sun 2 Apr Mon 3 Apr Tue 4 Apr Wed 5 Apr Thu 6 Apr Fri 7 Apr Sat 8 Apr Sun 9 Apr Mon 10 Apr Tue 11 Apr Wed 12 Apr Thu 13 Apr Fri 14 Apr Sat 15 Apr Sun 16 Apr Mon 17 Apr Tue 18 Apr Wed 19 Apr Thu 20 Apr Fri 21 Apr Sat 22 Apr Sun 23 Apr Mon 24 Apr Tue 25 Apr Wed 26 Apr Thu 27 Apr Fri 28 Apr Sat 29 Apr Sun 30 Apr Mon 1 May Tue 2 May Wed 3 May Thu 4 May Fri 5 May Sat 6 May Sun 7 May Mon 8 May Tue 9 May Wed 10 May Thu 11 May Fri 12 May Sat 13 May Sun 14 May Mon 15 May Tue 16 May Wed 17 May Thu 18 May Fri 19 May Sat 20 May Sun 21 May Mon 22 May Tue 23 May Wed 24 May Thu 25 May Fri 26 May Sat 27 May Sun 28 May Mon 29 May
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices

Price Calendar: These fares were collected over the last 24 hours and may be subject to change.

London to Brighton Train Information

Avg. Train Duration1h 1m
Trains arrive inBrighton
Trains depart fromLondon
Train Ticket Price 10.56 €
Distance76 km
Train Companies
  • Southern
  • Thameslink
  • Gatwick Express

Quick Guide: Trains from London to Brighton

Average Price: $20
Trains per day: ~10
Transfers: Direct, Hove
Average Time: 1:00
Fastest Route: 0:56
Slowest Route: 1:16


Trains from London to Brighton: Journey Details

Trains in the UK are a convenient way to travel between cities, with a number of companies offering both domestic and international train routes. Southern Railway and Thameslink are the two main rail providers operating trains from London to Brighton. Southern operates the earliest trains from London Victoria station with direct services that usually arrive in Brighton with just over an hour travel time. The latest trains from London to Brighton usually depart before midnight, with later trains sometimes available. There are normally 4 trains from London to Brighton per hour during peak times and 3 during off-peak times. Trains on this route will often stop at major stations including Clapham Junction, East Croydon and Gatwick Airport. Thameslink trains offer a direct service from London Bridge that begins shortly before typical Peak hours and takes just over an hour to reach Brighton. These too will usually stop at East Croydon and Gatwick Airport. Thameslink also offers an early morning London to Brighton train from London Blackfriars that also takes about an hour. These trains run approximately every 30 minutes for about an hour or so, with services concluding in the morning. Those looking to travel from other stations such as London St Pancras International are advised to first travel to London Victoria or London Bridge, and then take a service from there to Brighton.

London to Brighton trains: Not what you're looking for?

Return trains from Brighton to London | Compare all modes of traveling from London to Brighton | Or learn about trains to Brighton



London to Brighton Train Cost

Average prices for trains from London to Brighton when you book in advance

Booking Period

Average Price

Same Day

$25.66

1 Day in Advance

$22.31

1 Week in Advance

$20.08

2 Weeks in Advance

$18.97

1 Month in Advance

$17.85

3 Months in Advance

$15.62

London to Brighton Trains: General Information


  • autobus All London to Brighton trains are run by either Thameslink, Gatwick Express or Southern.

  • autobus Most London to Brighton trains are direct, depart from London's Victoria train station and arrive at Brighton Railway station.

  • autobus Journey Time: The London to Brighton train journey takes as little as 56 minutes to arrive in Brighton.

  • autobus Most travelers book their London to Brighton train tickets 1 day ahead of the travel date.





Based on GoEuro's travel data, as the table above clearly illustrates, ticket prices for London to Brighton trains decrease the further they are booked in advance:

  • It is 13% cheaper to book a London to Brighton train a day ahead of time rather than purchasing a ticket at the station.
  • It is 22% cheaper to book a London to Brighton train ticket 1 week in advance as opposed to the day you intend to travel.
  • Finally, London to Brighton train costs are 30% cheaper when booked 1 month in advance as opposed to purchasing a train ticket the day of.
Brighton

Demographics

Local Time 03:27
£ Pounds Sterling
Population 139,000
Region South East England
Languages English

How expensive is Brighton?

An Average Meal

An average meal in a restaurant in Brighton costs 3.7% less than in London.

Shopping

Prices in Brighton are on average 4.3% lower than in London.

Public Transport

Public transport in Brighton costs around 8% less than in London.

A Night in a Hotel

A night in a hotel in Brighton is about 37% less expensive than in London.

Taking the Train from London

The major stations in the capital servicing trains from London to Brighton include London Victoria, London Bridge, and London Blackfriars. Each of these stations offers trains to London as well as other national rail services. Victoria station is one of London’s major railway stations, and a great place to embark on a day trip from London to Brighton. The station is located in the center of the city towards the west, near to Pimlico and Green Park as well as Buckingham Palace. Victoria Station has a large number of TFL bus connections, including night buses, as well as London Underground lines including the Victoria Line, District Line and Circle Line. Night transport to or from the station can be done with night buses or taxis. London Bridge and London Blackfriars are also located in what is considered Central London - with both offering easy connections to The City. Like most major stations in London, they are also connected to TFL transport including buses, night buses and Underground services. London Bridge is a major stop on the Northern Line (Bank Branch) on the Underground, and London Blackfriars is accessible by the District and Circle Line stop at Blackfriars. As the Underground does not operate overnight, getting to either station in the late hours can also be achieved by night bus or with taxis.

Getting into Brighton by Train

An iconic seaside town, Brighton is best known by sight for the Brighton Pier and the Brighton Wheel. Also found here is the seaside palace of the Prince Regent (George IV) - the Royal Pavilion. This palace is now home to incredible works of art and ornate furniture, some lent by the Queen, as well as a beautiful tea room with a balcony overlooking the Pavilion gardens. The main station for trains from London to Brighton is Brighton Station in East Sussex, which is located centrally within the town. A number of Brighton & Hove Buses stop at or near to the station, and there is a cycle path and main road that leads directly from the station to the beach and Brighton Pier. Most buses do not operate overnight, however, a smaller selection of night buses are available. Taxis can also be taken from the taxi rank located outside of the station.

Train
Train
Train
Cheapest London to Brighton Trains This Weekend
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train