Trains from London to Cardiff

Approved for

and more

Best Price

Real time comparison

Easy Booking

Direct access to over 450 train, bus and flight partners

Customer Satisfaction

More than 30 million users from over 120 countries
Today Fri 24 Mar Sat 25 Mar Sun 26 Mar Mon 27 Mar Tue 28 Mar Wed 29 Mar Thu 30 Mar Fri 31 Mar Sat 1 Apr Sun 2 Apr Mon 3 Apr Tue 4 Apr Wed 5 Apr Thu 6 Apr Fri 7 Apr Sat 8 Apr Sun 9 Apr Mon 10 Apr Tue 11 Apr Wed 12 Apr Thu 13 Apr Fri 14 Apr Sat 15 Apr Sun 16 Apr Mon 17 Apr Tue 18 Apr Wed 19 Apr Thu 20 Apr Fri 21 Apr Sat 22 Apr Sun 23 Apr Mon 24 Apr Tue 25 Apr Wed 26 Apr Thu 27 Apr Fri 28 Apr Sat 29 Apr Sun 30 Apr Mon 1 May Tue 2 May Wed 3 May Thu 4 May Fri 5 May Sat 6 May Sun 7 May Mon 8 May Tue 9 May Wed 10 May Thu 11 May Fri 12 May Sat 13 May Sun 14 May Mon 15 May Tue 16 May Wed 17 May
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices

Price Calendar: These fares were collected over the last 24 hours and may be subject to change.

London to Cardiff Train Information

Avg. Train Duration2h 9m
Trains arrive inCardiff
Trains depart fromLondon
Train Ticket Price 33.65 €
Distance211 km
Train Companies
  • Great Western Railway

Trains from London to Cardiff: Journey Details

Trains in the UK from London to Cardiff run usually twice an hour from the early morning into the late evening, with service slowing to one train an hour during the later hours. During the week, all trains are direct and there are two peak fare periods each day in the morning and in the late afternoon. On the weekend, service varies slightly, with more trains requiring a change and first services tending to depart in the mid-morning. Direct trains usually complete the journey in about 2-3 hours, depending on the number of stations the service calls at. On trains that require a change, passengers may have to transfer at Bath Spa, Gloucester, Newport Gwent, and/or Swindon to complete their journey - and this could extend the trip to up to 3.5 hours. Services on this connection are provided by First Great Western from.

Return trains from Cardiff to London are also available.

Cardiff

Demographics

Local Time 16:23
£ Pounds Sterling
Population 302,100
Region Wales
Languages English, Welsh

How expensive is Cardiff?

An Average Meal

An average meal in a restaurant in Cardiff costs 12.3% less than in London.

Shopping

Prices in Cardiff are on average 14.4% lower than in London.

Public Transport

Public transport in Cardiff costs around 27.9% less than in London.

A Night in a Hotel

A night in a hotel in Cardiff is about 34.8% less expensive than in London.

Taking the Train from London

A thriving and exciting metropolis, London is home to hundreds of monuments, sights and attractions. Trains from London to Cardiff leave from the iconic Paddington Station. The station is well known from the Paddington Bear children’s story, from where he gets his name, as well as being one of the designs of legendary British engineer, Isambard Kingdom Brunel. The station is located in the west of Central London and is easily accessible by a variety of public transport. On the London Underground, Paddington can be reached on the Bakerloo, Hammersmith & City, District and Circle lines. A large number of buses and night buses stop at the station, including bus number 23 which also travels to Liverpool Street Station via Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square and the Strand. The station is the terminus for First Great Western, and has been for the successors of the Great Western Railway since 1863. The station is also the terminus for the Heathrow Express and Heathrow Connect trains, offering fast trains to London Heathrow airport.

Getting into Cardiff by Train

Cardiff, the capital of Wales, is a vibrant old industrial city that is proud of its Welsh culture with a variety of attractions for all visitors. Trains from London to Cardiff will arrive at Cardiff Central station. The train station is centrally located and offers within walking distance the Millennium Stadium, St David's Centre, Cardiff Arms Park and Cardiff Castle. As a major hub for train travel within the surrounding valleys, rail connections onward are possible here including to Swansea, where many of the trains from London to Cardiff will continue to. The central bus station is located adjacent to the railway station, and bus connections to Cardiff International Airport are available from either station.

Train
Train
Train
Cheapest London to Cardiff Trains This Weekend
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train