Trains from Venice to Milan

Approved for

and more

Best Price

Real time comparison

Easy Booking

Direct access to over 450 train, bus and flight partners

Customer Satisfaction

More than 30 million users from over 120 countries
Today Thu 27 Apr Fri 28 Apr Sat 29 Apr Sun 30 Apr Mon 1 May Tue 2 May Wed 3 May Thu 4 May Fri 5 May Sat 6 May Sun 7 May Mon 8 May Tue 9 May Wed 10 May Thu 11 May Fri 12 May Sat 13 May Sun 14 May Mon 15 May Tue 16 May Wed 17 May Thu 18 May Fri 19 May Sat 20 May Sun 21 May Mon 22 May Tue 23 May Wed 24 May Thu 25 May Fri 26 May Sat 27 May Sun 28 May Mon 29 May Tue 30 May Wed 31 May Thu 1 Jun Fri 2 Jun Sat 3 Jun Sun 4 Jun Mon 5 Jun Tue 6 Jun
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices
Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices Find prices

Price Calendar: These fares were collected over the last 24 hours and may be subject to change.

Venice to Milan Train Information

Avg. Train Duration3h 48m
Trains arrive inMilan
Trains depart fromVenice
Train Ticket Price 16.20 €
Distance245 km
Train Companies
  • Trenitalia
  • Regionale Veloce
  • Intercity Notte

Quick Guide: Trains from Venice to Milan

Average Price: $36
Trains per day: ~25
Transfers: Direct
Average Time: 2:35
Fastest Route: 2:10
Slowest Route: 2:45


Trains from Venice to Milan: Journey Details

Trains in Italy are an effective way to travel between cities, with Trenitalia offering both domestic and international routes. The journey from Venice to Milan is fast and convenient, with regular trains making the distance every day in just over 2.5 hours. From the city’s Venezia Santa Lucia railway station, the journey can be started as early 6:20 a.m. and services continue throughout the day approximately every half hour until early evening. Some services make the journey direct, while others require a change at Venezia Mestre or Bologna Centrale along the way.

Venice to Milan trains: Not what you're looking for?

Return trains from Milan to Venice | Compare all modes of traveling from Venice to Milan | Or learn more about cheap trains to Milan



Venice to Milan Train Cost

Average prices for Trenitalia trains from Venice to Milan when you book in advance

Booking Period

Average Price

Same Day

$47.98

1 Day in Advance

$52.44

1 Week in Advance

$36.82

2 Weeks in Advance

$32.36

1 Month in Advance

$26.78

3 Months in Advance

$21.20

Venice to Milan Trains: General Information


Travelers in Italy can offset some of the cost of Venice to Milan train tickets by planning ahead and booking tickets as far in advance as possible.


  • autobus All Venice to Milan trains are run by Trenitalia.

  • autobus All Trenitalia trains are direct, depart from either Venice's Santa Lucia or Mestre train stations and arrive at Milan's Centrale train station.

  • autobus Journey Time: The Venice to Milan train journey takes as little as 2 hours and 10 minutes to arrive in Milan.

  • autobus Most travelers book their Venice to Milan train tickets approximately 1 day in advance of the travel date.





Based on GoEuro's travel data, as the table above clearly illustrates, ticket prices on Venice to Milan trains decrease the further they are booked in advance:

  • It is 23% cheaper to purchase Venice to Milan train tickets 1 week ahead of when you intend to travel.
  • Venice to Milan train costs are 44% cheaper when booked 1 month in advance as opposed to purchasing a train ticket the day of.
Milan

Demographics

Local Time 12:01
Euro
Population 1,300,000
Region Lombardia
Languages Italian

How expensive is Milan?

An Average Meal

An average meal in a restaurant in Milan costs 0.2% less than in Venice.

Shopping

Prices in Milan are on average 4.8% lower than in Venice.

Public Transport

Public transport in Milan costs around 7.1% more than in Venice.

A Night in a Hotel

A night in a hotel in Milan is about 8.6% less expensive than in Venice.

Taking the Train from Venice

The closest train station to Venice's historic center is Venezia Santa Lucia, which is situated on the Grand Canal and can be reached in only a few minutes on foot or by waterbus. Depending upon their location, travelers may also opt to catch trains from Venice to Milan from the city’s other main railway station Venezia Mestre, which is located on the mainland. Many trains from Venezia Santa Lucia pass through Venezia Mestre on their way to other Italian cities, but public buses also run between the two stations on a regular basis, taking only 10 to 12 minutes journey time.

Getting into Milan by Train

Milano Centrale is Milan’s main train station and it is located to the north-east of the city center on Piazza Duca d'Aosta. Upon arrival, visitors can get around the city using a variety of transport options. The station is well connected to the city center by underground railway, tram lines, and bus services. A taxi rank is also located outside the station. The three Metro lines cover most of the city and connect to other major railway stations in Milan, such as Cadorna, and major tourist sites, such as the Duomo in the center of the city.

Train
Train
Train
Cheapest Venice to Milan Trains for the Next Few Days
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train
Train